top of page
  • Writer's pictureLizo Thwala

5 EFFECTIVE CORE EXERCISES




Exercising has been my escape for the past 2 years. It started as a way to distract me from life's obstacles but now? I literally cannot live without it. It was hard at first, I gave up a couple of times. There were days I could feel my mind giving up on me. The mind always gives up before the body, so it's your responsibility to train your mind to push through.


It won't always be easy. There'll be days when you don't feel like getting up and exercising. There'll be weeks where you postpone your workouts to the next day until it's Sunday and you have not gotten a single exercise in. This happens to the best of us. Life can get in the way and that's okay. As long as you can get back up and try again. I'm good with that.


Throughout our journey of wellness, I will share how exercise has been a significant factor in my journey. On this post, I will share the 5 core exercises that have been beneficial to me. All the below exercises are demonstrated on a video which can be found on the link below



It is important to note that not all core exercises are effective so ensure that you do exercises that fully engage your core in order to get the maximum result from your workout.


Plank

  • Stimulates more abdominal activity and works the muscles on your back.

  • Strengthens your spine and abdomen.

  • Engage the entire body.

  • Results in a strong posture

Bicycle Crunch

  • Activates the upper and lower abdomen.

  • Engages the obliques.

  • Muscle gain and strength.

  • Improves stability.

Side Plank

  • Core strength.

  • Engages obliques.

  • Strengthens arms and wrists and legs.

  • Improves balance.

Reverse Crunch

  • Engages lower abdomen.

  • Strengthens the entire abdomen.

  • Targets obliques.

  • Assists with posture.

Vertical Leg Crunch

  • Strengthens lower and upper abdomen.

  • Builds muscle to boost metabolism.

  • Improves balance and posture.

  • Increases overall body strength.


Remember to be patient with yourself. Take time to study your body so that you are able to determine what your body responds well to.

If you need help with your holistic wellness journey, feel free to pop me and email and I will be willing to help.


Take it one day at a time :)


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page